AI.EDU Lab
AI.EDU Research Lab at the FernUniversität in Hagen

The FernUniversität in Hagen at the DFKI’s EdTec Lab are collaborating on research into the use of artificial intelligence in university education as part of the AI.EDU Research Lab project. These two institutions have agreed to close collaboration and consultation on current research, development and transfer topics as part of the FernUniversität’s ‘Diversity, Digitalisation and Lifelong Learning’ research focus. The aim is to identify topics for joint projects. The ‘AI.EDU Research Lab’ was established as an initial cooperation project as part of the FernUniversität under the joint leadership of Prof. Claudia de Witt and Prof. Christoph Igel.

The project includes the interdisciplinary design, research and testing of artificial intelligence methods and applications in study and teaching activities at the FernUniversität. Machine learning and knowledge-based expert systems will also be used to support individual learning and study organisation. AI is expected to offer universities considerable potential for change. The FernUniversität, with its data from over 75,000 students, has the potential to become a model institution for the use of AI in studies, teaching and further training. Questions of AI’s acceptance and effectiveness for a diverse student population, taking ethics into account, will also be a focal point.

Related articles

Prof. Dr. Igel appointed visiting professor at the FernUniversität in Hagen

Project AI.EDU Lab
Article posted on 07.01.2019
Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Scientific Director of the DFKI’s EdTec Lab, has been a visiting professor at the FernUniversität in Hagen since October 2018. He is supporting the ‘Digitalisation. Diversity. Lifelong Learning. Consequences for Higher Education’ research focus by providing expertise in expanding the possibilities of academic education usi
Further information

AI.EDU Lab
AI.EDU Research Lab an der FernUniversität in Hagen

In der Erforschung des Einsatzes von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Bildung an Hochschulen kooperieren die FernUniversität in Hagen und das EdTec Lab des DFKI im Projekt AI.EDU Research Lab. Beide Institutionen haben im Rahmen des Forschungsschwerpunktes „Diversität, Digitalisierung und Lebenslanges Lernen“ der FernUniversität einen engen Austausch und Beratungsleistungen zu aktuellen Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Transferthemen vereinbart. Ziel ist es, Themen für gemeinsame Projekte zu identifizieren. Als initiales Kooperationsprojekt wird das „AI.EDU Research Lab“ in Räumen der FernUniversität unter der gemeinsamen Leitung von Prof. Dr. habil. Claudia de Witt und Prof. Dr. habil. Christoph Igel eingerichtet.

Im Rahmen des Projektes werden Methoden und Anwendungen Künstlicher Intelligenz in Studium und Lehre an der FernUniversität interdisziplinär gestaltet, erforscht und erprobt. Zum Einsatz kommen Maschinelles Lernen und wissensbasierte Expertensysteme zur Unterstützung des individuellen Lernens und der Studienorganisation. KI wird ein erhebliches Veränderungspotenzial für Hochschulen zugeschrieben. Die FernUniversität hat mit ihren Daten von mehr als 75.000 Studierenden das Potenzial, eine Modellinstitution bei der Nutzung von KI in Studium, Lehre und Weiterbildung zu werden. Auch stehen Fragen zu Akzeptanz und Wirksamkeit von KI für eine diverse Studierendenschaft unter Berücksichtigung von Ethik im Fokus.

Zugehörige Beiträge

Prof. Dr. Igel ist Visiting Professor an der FernUniversität in Hagen

Projekt AI.EDU Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 07.01.2019
Seit Oktober 2018 ist Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des EdTec Lab des DFKI, als Visiting Professor an der FernUniversität in Hagen tätig. Er unterstützt den Forschungsschwerpunkt "Digitalisierung. Diversität. Lebenslanges Lernen. Konsequenzen für die Hochschulbildung" durch seine Expertise im Bereich der Erweiterung der Mögl
Weitere Informationen