Prof. Dr. Igel appointed visiting professor at the FernUniversität in Hagen

Project AI.EDU Lab
Article posted on 07.01.2019

Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Scientific Director of the DFKI’s EdTec Lab, has been a visiting professor at the FernUniversität in Hagen since October 2018. He is supporting the ‘Digitalisation. Diversity. Lifelong Learning. Consequences for Higher Education’ research focus by providing expertise in expanding the possibilities of academic education using artificial intelligence methods and innovative software technologies.

This research focus tackles a question that is highly relevant to the entire higher education landscape: what are the consequences and underlying conditions of digitalisation? It concentrates on three challenges that are relevant to transfer in higher education: (1) How can the opportunities of digitalising a university’s core operating processes be appropriately put to use? (2) How can we respond to the increasing diversity of target groups? (3) How do we develop suitable higher-education forms of lifelong learning?

The research focus is application-oriented: research findings can be directly tackled during the course of studies or in pilot projects with large groups of (remote) students, enabling robust social testing. Together with Prof. Dr. Claudia de Witt (FernUniversität in Hagen), Prof. Igel is responsible for the scientific running of the research focus’s ‘AI.EDU Research Lab’ project as part of an existing cooperation between the FernUniversität in Hagen and the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI). Dr. Milos Kravcik and Dr. Xia Wang at the DFKI’s EdTec Lab are also involved in the ‘AI.EDU Research Lab’ project.

Prof. Dr. Igel ist Visiting Professor an der FernUniversität in Hagen

Projekt AI.EDU Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 07.01.2019

Seit Oktober 2018 ist Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des EdTec Lab des DFKI, als Visiting Professor an der FernUniversität in Hagen tätig. Er unterstützt den Forschungsschwerpunkt „Digitalisierung. Diversität. Lebenslanges Lernen. Konsequenzen für die Hochschulbildung“ durch seine Expertise im Bereich der Erweiterung der Möglichkeiten akademischer Bildung durch Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz und innovativer Softwaretechnologien.

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt beschöäftigt sich mit einer Frage, die hochaktuell für die gesamte Hochschullandschaft ist: Was sind die Konsequenzen und Rahmenbedingungen der Digitalisierung? Im Fokus stehen drei Herausforderungen, die für den Transfer in den Bereich der Hochschulbildung relevant sind: (1) Wie lassen sich die Möglichkeiten einer Digitalisierung der zentralen Leistungsprozesse der Hochschule angemessen nutzen? (2) Wie kann man einer zunehmenden Diversität der Zielgruppen gerecht werden? Und (3) Wie lassen sich adäquate hochschulische Formen des Lebenslangen Lernensentwickeln?

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt ist anwendungsorientiert ausgerichtet: Forschungsergebnisse können direkt im Studienbetrieb oder in Pilotprojekten mit großen (Fern-)Studierendengruppen aufgegriffen und somit sozial robust erprobt werden. Gemeinsam mit Prof. Dr. Claudia de Witt (FernUniversität in Hagen) obliegt Prof. Igel  die wissenschaftliche Leitung des am Forschungsschwerpunkt angesiedelten Projektes „AI.EDU Research Lab“ im Rahmen der bestehenden Kooperation zwischen der FernUniversität in Hagen und dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) ein. Für das EdTec Lab des DFKI wirken im Projekt „AI.EDU Research Lab“ mit: Dr. Milos Kravcik und Dr. Xia Wang.