Designing personalised learning environments for students

Project tech4comp
Article posted on 03.12.2018

The joint project “Personalised competence development via scalable mentoring processes – tech4comp” started at the beginning of October 2018. The central question is “What should design concepts that make the proven quality of individual mentoring scalable for the acquisition of competences look like?”, and eight project partners throughout Germany have formed a consortium managed by Leipzig University which will operate until March 2022, researching concepts for personalised learning environments and mentoring for the students of today and tomorrow. The project will be funded for the next 42 months by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research in the funding line “Innovation potential of digital university education”, with a total budget of € 7.4 million. There is an option to extend the funding until September 2024; if this is approved, a further € 5.2 million in funding will be provided.

“The project is a response to the changed realities of, and access to, learning in the digital age. We also want to take account of the diversity of our students, and use technology to enable individual accesses to studying”, says the manager of the joint project, Professor Heinz-Werner Wollersheim, who holds the Professorship in General Pedagogy at Leipzig University. Scientists at the Faculty of Education at Leipzig University are working with colleagues from the Technische Universität Dresden (TU Dresden), the Educational Technology Lab of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Chemnitz University of Technology (TU Chemnitz), Leipzig University of Applied Sciences (HTWK Leipzig), Freie Universität Berlin and RWTH Aachen University to research how students’ learning processes can best be supported. The project focusses on technology-enhanced mentoring and on mentoring tools.

“The interdisciplinary focus of the project enables us to access the area of student learning from a variety of directions: thus we are opening up not only different study disciplines, but also broad access to the way the various faculties approach methods and research”, emphasises Professor Christoph Igel, Professor of Educational Technology at Chemnitz University of Technology and Scientific Director of the Educational Technology Lab of the DFKI. The latter’s experience in supporting training, qualification and education processes with innovative software technologies and artificial intelligence applications will also be used during the project. The test area comprises subjects that involve different amounts of structure: mathematics at HTWK Leipzig, mathematics-related subjects at the TU Chemnitz, and in terms of teacher training, the educational sciences at Leipzig University and the TU Dresden.

So that in future students from all subject areas can benefit from the research findings of the project, Professor Thomas Köhler of the TU Dresden emphasises the project aims: “So that we can establish technology-enhanced mentoring permanently in universities, we need to test the effectiveness of the solutions on offer and provide concepts, in order to create a structural basis to support both learners and the administrative staff at the universities in tackling the associated challenges.” This project will also have a major impact for the further development of digitally-supported university teaching in Saxony generally, as a total of four universities in Saxony are involved in the joint project.

Personalisierte Lernumgebungen für Studierende gestalten

Projekt tech4comp
Beitrag erstellt am 03.12.2018

Das Verbundprojekt „Personalisierte Kompetenzentwicklung durch skalierbare Mentoringprozesse – tech4comp“ ist Anfang Oktober 2018 gestartet. Unter der Leitfrage „Wie müssen Gestaltungskonzepte aussehen, die die erwiesene Qualität von individuellem Mentoring für den Erwerb von Kompetenzen skalierbar machen?“ erforschen bundesweit acht Projektpartner unter der Konsortialleitung der Universität Leipzig bis März 2022 Konzepte für personalisierte Lernumgebungen und Mentoring für die Studierenden von heute und morgen. Gefördert wird das Projekt durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung in der Förderlinie „Innovationspotenziale digitaler Hochschulbildung“ mit einem Gesamtetat von 7,4 Millionen Euro für die nächsten 42 Monate. Es besteht eine Verlängerungsoption bis September 2024, die im Bewilligungsfall mit weiteren 5,2 Millionen Euro gefördert werden wird.

„Das Projekt reagiert zum einen auf veränderte Lernrealitäten und -zugänge im digitalen Zeitalter. Zum anderen wollen wir der Diversität unserer Studierenden Rechnung tragen und durch Technologie individuelle Zugänge zum Studium ermöglichen“, so Verbundprojektleiter Prof. Dr. Heinz-Werner Wollersheim, Inhaber der Professur für Allgemeine Pädagogik der Universität Leipzig. Gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Technischen Universität Dresden (TU Dresden), des Educational Technology Labs des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, der Technischen Universität Chemnitz (TU Chemnitz), der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig (HTWK Leipzig), der Freien Universität Berlin sowie der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule Aachen erforschen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an der Erziehungswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Leipzig, wie man den Lernprozess von Studierenden bestmöglich begleiten kann. Das Projekt setzt dabei auf technologiegestütztes Mentoring und Mentoringwerkzeuge.

„Die interdisziplinäre Ausrichtung des Projektes ermöglicht uns einen vielseitigen Zugang zum Feld studentischen Lernens: so erschließen wir uns sowohl verschiedene Studiendisziplinen, als auch einen breiten Zugang zu Methoden- und Forschungsansätzen der unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen.“, betont Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Professor für Bildungstechnologie an der Technischen Universität Chemnitz und Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Educational Technology Lab des DFKI, wo bereits Erfahrung in der Unterstützung von Trainings-, Qualifizierungs- und Bildungsprozessen durch innovative Softwaretechnologien und Anwendungen der Künstliche Intelligenz vorliegen, die auch im Projekt Anwendung finden sollen. Als Testfeld dienen unterschiedlich stark strukturierte Fachbereiche: Mathematik an der HTWK Leipzig, mathematiknahe Fachbereiche an der TU Chemnitz und in der Lehrerbildung die Bildungswissenschaften an der Uni Leipzig und der TU Dresden.

Damit zukünftig Studierende aller Fachrichtungen von den Forschungsergebnissen des Projekts profitieren können, unterstreicht Prof. Dr. Thomas Köhler von der TU Dresden: „Um technologiegestütztes Mentoring nachhaltig in den Hochschulen etablieren zu können, müssen wir die Angebote auf ihre Wirksamkeit hin untersuchen sowie Konzepte zur strukturellen Verankerung bereitstellen, um Lehrende ebenso wie das Personal der Hochschulverwaltungen bei der  Bewältigung damit verbundener Herausforderungen zu unterstützen.“ Auch für die Weiterentwicklung digital gestützter Hochschullehre in Sachsen im Allgemeinen wird dieses Projekt einen wesentlichen Impact bedeuten, insgesamt vier sächsische Hochschulen sind am Verbundvorhaben beteiligt.