PenAI is a winning idea at the Cornelsen EdTech Innovation Days 2018

EdTec Lab
Article posted on 07.10.2018

On 7 October 2018, Cornelsen Verlag threw open the doors to this year’s EdTech Innovation Days. The theme of the event was ‘Smart Tech – Smart Kids’, and it focused on the positive contribution that artificial intelligence could make in primary schools in the foreseeable future. Children at primary school should learn to read, write and do sums, and teaching social and media skills and the ability to organise themselves is also important. The use of artificial intelligence provides promising opportunities for supporting the target groups of students, teachers and parents.

18 experts from the school, technology and educational sectors came to the STATE Studio in Berlin to tackle this question of how to put artificial intelligence to meaningful use in primary schools in the near future. The 18 primary school teachers, e-learning experts, game designers, educational game developers, AI consultants and data analysts were split into four interdisciplinary teams and participated in a moderated design thinking workshop where they were asked to develop hypotheses, formulate ideas, built prototypes and finally present their results to a four-person panel. Participants included Michael Dietrich, Senior Engineer at the DFKI’s EdTec Lab, as well as employees of Birds on Mars, Calliope, the HABA Digitalwerkstatt, the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute, Urban Pockets, and Cornelsen.

The four teams made use of intense discussion and debate to develop inspiring ideas for the primary schools of the future and present them to a specialist panel from the fields of education, politics and science. The ‘PenAI’ handwriting analysis pen idea presented by Michael Dietrich’s team was judged to be the best and awarded first prize.

PenAI Idee gewinnt Cornelsen EdTech Innovation Days 2018

EdTec Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 07.10.2018

Am 7. Oktober 2018 lud der Cornelsen Verlag zu seinen diesjährigen EdTech Innovation Days. Titelthema der Veranstaltung war „Smart Tech – Smart Kids“ und hatte die Frage, welchen positiven Beitrag Künstliche Intelligenz in absehbarer Zeit in der Grundschule leisten kann, zum Thema. In der Grundschule sollen Kinder lesen, schreiben und rechnen lernen. Genauso wichtig sind die Vermittlung von Sozial- und Medienkompetenzen sowie das Erlernen der Fähigkeit zur Selbstorganisation. Der Einsatz Künstlicher Intelligenz bietet  vielversprechende Möglichkeiten, die Zielgruppen Schülerinnen und Schüler, Lehrkräfte und Eltern zu unterstützen.

Zur Beantwortung der Frage zum sinnvollen, zeitnahen Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Grundschule wurden 18 Expertinnen und Experten aus Schulpraxis, Technologie und Didaktik im State Studio Berlin vereint. Die 18 Grundschullehrkräfte, E-Learning-Experten, Game Designer, Lernspiel-Entwickler, KI-Consultants und Data Analysten wurden in vier interdisziplinäre Teams eingeteilt und mussten in einem moderierten Design-Thinking Workshop Hypothesen entwickeln, Ideen ausarbeiten, Prototypen bauen und letztendlich ihre Ergebnisse einer vierköpfigen Jury vortragen. Neben Michael Dietrich, Senior Engineer am EdTec Lab des DFKI, waren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Birds on Mars, Calliope, der Digital Werkstatt Haba, dem Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institut, Urban Pockets  und Cornelsen unter den Teilnehmern.

Die vier Teams nutzten den intensiven Austausch, um inspirierende Ideen für die Zukunft der Grundschule zu entwickeln und diese einer Fachjury aus Schule, Politik und Wissenschaft vorzustellen. Die Idee des Stiftes zur Handschriftanalyse “PenAI” des Teams mit Michael Dietrich wurde als Beste bewertet und mit dem ersten Platz ausgezeichnet.