The worlds of learning and work will determine the future of digitalisation

WorldSkills Germany
Article posted on 03.12.2018

VR glasses, robots, learning environments reminiscent of computer games – at the final of the national “Digital Youngsters” competition, initiated by WorldSkills Germany, seven teams of apprentices showed how they imagine training and work will look tomorrow. Unlike the way in which many companies are planning to use digitalisation to achieve more cost-efficient production and thus boost their profits, young people tend to regard people and their work-life balance as central to the world of work of the future. Digitalisation plays a major role, and will also fundamentally change training, but always to the benefit of the learners and teachers. From the 15 visions of training in 2030 that were originally submitted, it was the team from CANCOM that emerged as the national winner in the final held at TeamBank AG in Nuremberg.

“As the jury, what convinced us about the vision of the CANCOM team is the fact that it amalgamates many aspects that will be of great importance for training in the future”, said Dr. Axel-Michael Unger, former President of the Bundesverband Deutscher Berufsausbilder (German IVET Trainer Association) and jury member, explaining the jury’s decision. “With their project AI-Ducation Cloud, the apprentices developed a learning platform that contains a universal toolbox. Artificial Intelligence and Cloud-based learning enable individual learning offerings to be used irrespective of the learner’s location. The concept won us over with its sustainability, health promotion and its cost-efficiency for companies and vocational schools. In the end the CANCOM team won through against a very strong field of participants thanks to their holistic approach.” And Professor Christoph Igel, Scientific Director of the EdTecLab at the DFKI and member of the jury added: “The potential that AI offers for vocational training is immense. I am delighted that the national winners of this year’s Digital Youngsters competition recognised this and addressed it so positively in their future vision for the work of tomorrow”.

“We greatly enjoyed hosting the Digital Youngsters Award 2018. Digitalisation is a very important topic for us, but so too are learning and lifelong learning in this context. It starts with the apprentices, and extends not only to our trainees but also to the whole of our team, all the way up to the Management Board. We need to open up and repeatedly try new approaches”, said Dr. Christiane Decker, member of the Management Board of TeamBank AG, summing up the company’s engagement within the framework of the competition. TeamBank also awarded a prize with a group of its own apprentices. “The team from Audi AG won because they convinced us and our apprentices by the way they approached their deliberations. They linked the topic of individualisation with modularisation, so that everyone can incorporate their own learning speed and thus learn in the way they want to, while still having all the options. Digitalisation makes an incredible contribution to this.”

Lern- und Arbeitswelten bestimmen die Zukunft der Digitalisierung

WorldSkills Germany
Beitrag erstellt am 03.12.2018

VR-Brillen, Roboter, an Computerspiele erinnernde Lernumgebungen – beim Finale des von WorldSkills Germany initiierten Bundeswettbewerbs „Digital Youngsters“ zeigten sieben Auszubildenden-Teams, wie sie sich die Ausbildung und Arbeit von morgen vorstellen. Im Gegensatz zu den Plänen vieler Unternehmen, die Digitalisierung zur kosteneffizienteren und gewinnsteigernden Produktion zu nutzen, sehen junge Menschen eher den Menschen und dessen Work-Life-Balance im Mittelpunkt der Arbeitswelt der Zukunft. Die Digitalisierung spielt eine wichtige Rolle und wird auch die Ausbildung grundlegend verändern, aber immer zum Wohle der Lernenden und Lehrenden. Aus den ursprünglich 15 eingereichten Visionen zur Ausbildung 2030 ging beim Finale in der TeamBank AG Nürnberg das Team der CANCOM als Bundessieger hervor.

„Was uns als Jury an der Vision des Teams CANCOM überzeugte, ist die Zusammenführung vieler Aspekte, die in Zukunft von großer Bedeutung für die Ausbildung sein werden“, begründet Dr. Axel-Michael Unger, ehemals Präsident des Bundesverbands Deutscher Berufsausbilder und Mitglied der Jury, die Entscheidung. „Mit dem Projekt AI-Ducation Cloud haben die Auszubildenden eine Lernplattform entwickelt, die einen universellen Werkzeugkasten beinhaltet. Künstliche Intelligenz und Cloud basiertes Lernen ermöglichen individuelle Lernangebote ortsunabhängig zu nutzen. Das Konzept überzeugt durch seine Nachhaltigkeit, Gesundheitsförderung und Kosteneffizienz für Unternehmen und Berufsschulen. Am Ende konnte sich das Team CANCOM durch seine gesamtheitlichen Betrachtungen gegen ein sehr starkes Teilnehmerfeld durchsetzen.“ Und Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des EdTec Lab des DFKI und Mitglied der Jury ergänzt: „Die Potenziale von KI für die berufliche Bildung sind immens. Es freut mich sehr, dass der Bundessieger des diesjährigen Digital-Youngster-Wettbewerbs dies erkannt und in seiner Zukunftsvision für die Arbeit von morgen so positiv aufgegriffen hat“.

„Wir waren sehr gerne Gastgeber für den Digital Youngsters-Award 2018. Die Digitalisierung ist für uns ein ganz wichtiges Thema, aber in dem Zusammenhang eben auch Lernen und lebenslanges Lernen. Das fängt bei den Azubis an, geht über die Trainees aber auch über unser gesamtes Team bis hin zum Vorstand. Wir müssen uns öffnen und immer wieder neue Wege gehen,“ fasste Dr. Christiane Decker, Mitglied des Vorstands der TeamBank AG, das Engagement des Unternehmens im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs zusammen. Die TeamBank hatte mit einer Gruppe eigener Auszubildenden darüber hinaus einen Ehrenpreis vergeben. „Gewonnen hat das Team der Audi AG, weil sie uns und unsere Azubis in der Art, wie sie an ihre Überlegungen herangegangen sind, überzeugt haben. Sie haben das Thema Individualisierung verbunden mit einer Modularisierung, sodass jeder sein eigenes Lerntempo aufnehmen kann und so lernen kann wie er das möchte, dabei aber alle Möglichkeiten hat. Die Digitalisierung trägt hier unglaublich dazu bei.“