AI.EDU Research Lab together with FernUniversität in Hagen

Project AI.EDU Lab
Article posted on 19.12.2018

FernUniversität in Hagen and the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) are cooperating on research into the use of Artificial Intelligence in university education. Within the framework of the focus of research at FernUniversität, “Diversity, digitalisation and lifelong learning”, the two institutions have agreed on a close exchange and consultancy services on current research, development and transfer topics associated. The aim is to identify topics for joint projects. As an initial cooperation project, the “AI.EDU Research Lab” is being set up on the premises of FernUniversität, and will be jointly supported by the Educational Technology Lab of the DFKI, led by Professor Christoph Igel, and the Education Theory and Media Didactics subject area at FernUniversität, led by Professor Claudia de Witt.

Employees of both institutions are working together across disciplines to research and test Artificial Intelligence methods and applications in both studies and teaching at FernUniversität. Machine learning methods and knowledge-based expert systems are being used to assist individual learning and study organisation. “With the DFKI we have won over one of the leading research establishments in the field of Artificial Intelligence”, says the Professor Ada Pellert, Rector of FernUniversität. “The Federal Government has just positioned AI as the central building block of its digitalisation strategy for Germany. We believe that together with the DFKI we can make a substantial contribution here to the university education area.”

Scientist Claudia de Witt adds: “Artificial Intelligence is going to substantially change teaching, studying and the way studies are organised at the university. So we are greatly interested in deploying knowledge-based expert systems and machine learning in university education together with the experienced DFKI. We are also eager to design models for intelligent supporting systems for teaching and learning.” And scientist Christoph Igel reiterates: “With its wide-ranging data from more than 75,000 students, FernUniversität has the potential to become a model institution in the use of AI in studying, teaching and further education in Germany and worldwide.” Researching the effectiveness of AI for a varied student population while taking account of ethical guidelines is also on the agenda for both cooperation partners.

AI.EDU Research Lab gemeinsam mit FernUniversität in Hagen

EdTec Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 19.12.2018

Die FernUniversität in Hagen und das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) kooperieren in der Erforschung des Einsatzes von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Hochschulbildung. Beide Institutionen haben im Rahmen des Forschungsschwerpunktes „Diversität, Digitalisierung und Lebenslanges Lernen“ der FernUniversität einen engen Austausch und Beratungsleistungen zu aktuellen Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Transferthemen vereinbart. Ziel ist es, Themen für gemeinsame Projekte zu identifizieren. Als initiales Kooperationsprojekt wird das „AI.EDU Research Lab“ in Räumen der FernUniversität eingerichtet, das gemeinsam vom Educational Technology Lab des DFKI unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. habil. Christoph Igel und dem Lehrgebiet Bildungstheorie und Medienpädagogik der FernUniversität unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. habil. Claudia de Witt getragen wird.

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beider Einrichtungen arbeiten interdisziplinär daran, Methoden und Anwendungen Künstlicher Intelligenz in Studium und Lehre an der FernUniversität zu erforschen und zu erproben. Zum Einsatz kommen Methoden des Maschinellen Lernens und wissensbasierte Expertensysteme zur Unterstützung des individuellen Lernens und der Studienorganisation. „Mit dem DFKI konnten wir eine der führenden Forschungseinrichtungen im Bereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz gewinnen“, freut sich FernUni-Rektorin Prof. Dr. Ada Pellert. „KI ist gerade als ein zentraler Baustein der Digitalisierungsstrategie der Bundesregierung für Deutschland gesetzt worden. Wir glauben, hier gemeinsam mit dem DFKI einen substanziellen Beitrag für den Bereich Hochschulbildung leisten zu können.“

Wissenschaftlerin Claudia de Witt unterstreicht: „Künstliche Intelligenz wird in der Hochschule Lehre, Studium und Studienorganisation maßgeblich verändern. Daher sind wir stark daran interessiert, zusammen mit dem erfahrenen DFKI wissensbasierte Expertensysteme und maschinelles Lernen in der Hochschulbildung einzusetzen. Außerdem sind wir gespannt darauf, Modelle für intelligente, unterstützende Systeme zum Lehren und Lernen zu gestalten.“ Und Wissenschaftler Christoph Igel ergänzt: „Die FernUniversität mit ihren vielfältigen Daten von mehr als 75.000 Studierenden hat das Potenzial, eine Modellinstitution bei der Nutzung von KI in Studium, Lehre und Weiterbildung in Deutschland und weltweit zu werden“. Die Wirksamkeit von KI für eine diverse Studierendenschaft unter Berücksichtigung von Ethikrichtlinien zu erforschen steht ebenfalls auf der Agenda der beiden Kooperationspartner.