Educational Technology Laboratory

In today’s global, knowledge-based society with its complex educational spaces and wide variety of options for technology-based qualification and knowledge and information management, tried-and-tested forms of formal, informal and non-formal education are increasingly reaching their limits.

Innovative design opportunities for qualification and education processes through to a self-directed social process – paired with the growing efficiency of ubiquitously usable hardware and software plus networking with the internet of things – have resulted educational landscapes in a state of constant change.

The Educational Technology Lab at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) undertakes research, development, innovation and enhancement work focusing on academic and professional basic and further training via artificial intelligence and innovative software technologies in networked digital worlds.

Academics work together with partners from research, science and innovation, the digital and education economies, university spinoffs, startups in the fields of human resources and educational technologies, and young companies in e-learning and digital education.

People, learning, artificial intelligence

The research and development work undertaken by the EdTec Lab focuses on technologies and software which use artificial intelligence methods to enable learners’ learning goals, experiences and surroundings to be adjusted in an intelligent and adaptive way and allow for the provision of individually tailored learning opportunities.

This is particularly relevant to intelligent, mobile assistance systems which provide ubiquitous context-sensitive information in real time, knowledge services which compile teaching and learning content tailored to the learner, and immersive learning environments where learners work within multidimensional educational spaces.

It also applies to semantic knowledge platforms which facilitate collaboration and exchange of knowledge between and within groups, adaptive self-assessments which undertake psychologically sound interest and aptitude tests, and assistance services which provide individual help and support during treatments.

A team of international researchers from computer science, pedagogy, psychology, communication sciences, educational science and sport science work together as an interdisciplinary collaboration at EdTec Lab. Excellent research and development based on the latest methods go hand in hand with agile project management.

Industry, medicine, prevention, finances

EdTec Lab’s research and development activities are applied to the personnel, work and organisational development of international DAX companies, and to small and medium-sized enterprises, federal and state ministries, municipal administrations, and non-profit and non-governmental organisations.

They are also used for the digital transformation of professional basic and further training, including in industry 4.0, plant and mechanical engineering, logistics, electrical engineering, the automotive industry, the aerospace industry, medicine, prevention and sport. This covers formal, informal and non-formal education as well as user-centric procedures and peer-to-peer learning methods.

The researchers of the EdTec Lab have been supporting the digitisation of teaching, learning and testing in scholastic educational processes and in universities’ teaching, study and further training activities since the mid-1990s. Preschool education in the era of digitisation completes the portfolio.

EdTec Lab’s activities also include advising decision-makers on company boards and management boards and in educational institutions, federal and state ministries, foundations, chambers and associations. More than 20 years of experience form a sound basis for a trusting partnership.

Conferences and events

  • Bildungsräume 2017
    Joint conference by the German Informatics Society and the German Society of Media in Science 5 to 8 September at TU Chemnitz www.bildungsraeume2017.de
  • MEDIZIN.BILDUNG.DIGITAL
    Basic and advanced training in medicine and healthcare in the era of digitisation and the internet of things 6 September at TU Chemnitz www.medizin-bildung-digital.de
  • Smart Sport Conference
    Movement, sport and youth culture in times of Digitization and the Internet of Things 7 September at TU Chemnitz www.smart-sport.de
Current articles

EdTec Lab with lecture at the PLATO Summer Conference

EdTec Lab
Article posted on 28.06.2017
On June 28th-30th, Dr. Milos Kravcik participated at the PLATO International Summer Conference at Johannes Gutenberg-University in Mainz. The acronym PLATO stands for “Positive Learning in the Age of Information” and is the theme of a new Cluster of Excellence proposal, which is being prepared currently. The EdTec Lab of the DFKI is one of the
Further information

Invited Keynotes by Dr. Ullrich at iLRN and ISCSET

EdTec Lab
Article posted on 28.06.2017
In June and July, Dr. Ullrich gave two keynote speeches on innovative applications for workplace-oriented learning. In his speech of 28 June given to the 3rd Annual International Conference of the Immersive Learning Research Network in Coimbra, Portugal, entitled ‘Workplace-Based Learning in Industry 4.0: Multi-Perspective Approaches and Solution
Further information

EdTec start-up dialogue launches federal government’s digital summit

Federal Government's Digital Summit
Article posted on 12.06.2017
Innovative ideas from the EdTec scene were sought for the start-up dialogue at the federal government’s digital summit. 27 junior research groups, spin-offs, start-ups and young companies applied to participate in the event held at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg on the opening day of the digital summit. A panel of experts from the IT, digita
Further information

Educational Technology Laboratory

In der globalen, wissensbasierten Gesellschaft von heute mit ihren komplexen Bildungsräumen und vielfältigen Möglichkeiten der technologie-unterstützten Qualifizierung sowie des Wissens- und Informationsmanagements stoßen bewährte Formen der formalen, informellen und non-formalen Bildung zunehmend an ihre Grenzen.

Möglichkeiten der innovativen Gestaltung von Qualifizierungs- und Bildungsprozessen hin zu einem selbstgesteuerten, sozialen Prozess, gekoppelt mit der wachsenden Leistungsfähigkeit ubiquitär nutzbarer Hard- und Software und der Vernetzung im Internet der Dinge führen weltweit zu sich agil verändernden Bildungslandschaften.

Das Educational Technology Lab des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) fokussiert in Forschung, Entwicklung, Innovation die Erweiterung schulischer, akademischer und beruflicher Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung durch Künstliche Intelligenz und innovative Softwaretechnologien in vernetzten, digitalisierten Welten.

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler kooperieren mit Partnern aus Forschung, Wissenschaft und Innovation, Digital- und Bildungswirtschaft sowie mit universitären Spinoffs, Startups im Umfeld von Human Resources und Educational Technologies sowie mit jungen Unternehmen im E-Learning und in der digitalen Bildung.

Mensch, Lernen, Künstliche Intelligenz

Schwerpunkte der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten des EdTec Lab liegen auf Technologien und Software, die es durch Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz ermöglichen, sich auf den Lernenden, sein Lernziel, seine Erfahrung und seine Umgebung intelligent-adaptiv einzustellen sowie individuell passende Lerngelegenheiten anzubieten.

Dies gilt insbesondere für intelligente, mobile Assistenzsysteme, die kontext-sensitiv Informationen in Echtzeit ubiquitär bereitstellen, web-basierte Wissensdienste, die an den Lernenden angepasste Lehr- und Lerninhalte zusammenstellen oder immersive Lernumgebungen, in denen Lernende in multidimensionalen Bildungsräumen agieren.

Und dies gilt für semantische Wissensplattformen, die Kollaboration und Austausch von Wissen zwischen und innerhalb von Gruppen vereinfachen, adaptive Self-Assessments, die psychologisch fundierte Interessen- und Eignungstests durchführen oder Assistenzdienste, die individuelle Hilfe und Unterstützung bei Handlungen anbieten.

Ein Team internationaler Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Informatik, Pädagogik, Psychologie, Kommunikations-, Bildungs- und Sportwissenschaften arbeiten im EdTec Lab interdisziplinär zusammen. Exzellente Forschung, Entwicklung auf Basis neuester Methoden und agiles Projektmanagement gehen dabei Hand in Hand.

Industrie, Medizin, Prävention, Finanzen

Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten des EdTec Lab finden Anwendung in der Personal-, Arbeits- und Organisationsentwicklung international agierender DAX-Unternehmen, in kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, in Bundes-, Landesministerien sowie in kommunaler Verwaltung und in Non-Profit- und Nicht-Regierungs-Organisationen.

Weiterhin in der digitalen Transformation der beruflichen Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung u.a. zu Industrie 4.0, Anlagen- und Maschinenbau, Logistik, Elektrotechnik, Automotive, Luftfahrt, Medizin, Prävention und Sport. Dies gilt für die formale, informelle und non-formale Bildung sowie nutzerzentrierte Verfahren und Peer-to-Peer-Lernmethoden.

Seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre begleiten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des EdTec Lab auch die Digitalisierung des Lehren, Lernen und Prüfen in schulischen Bildungsprozessen sowie in Lehre, Studium  und Weiterbildung der Hochschulen. Die vorschulische Bildung in Zeiten der Digitalisierung vervollständigt das Portfolio.

Die Beratung von Entscheidungsträgern in Unternehmensvorständen, Geschäftsführungen, Bildungseinrichtungen, in Bundes- und Landesministerien sowie in Stiftungen, Kammern und Verbände ist ebenso eine Aufgabe des EdTec Lab. Mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung sind eine qualifizierte Grundlage für vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit.

Konferenzen und Veranstaltungen

  • Bildungsräume 2017
    Gemeinsame Konferenz der Gesellschaft für Informatik und der Gesellschaft für Medien in der Wissenschaft 5. bis 8. September an der TU Chemnitz www.bildungsraeume2017.de
  • MEDIZIN.BILDUNG.DIGITAL
    Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung in Medizin und Gesundheitswesen in Zeiten der Digitalisierung und des Internet der Dinge 6. September an der TU Chemnitz www.medizin-bildung-digital.de
  • Smart Sport Konferenz
    Bewegung, Sport und Jugendkultur in Zeiten von Digitalisierung und dem Internet der Dinge 7. September an der TU Chemnitz www.smart-sport.de
Aktuelle Beiträge

EdTec Lab mit Vortrag auf der PLATO Sommerkonferenz

EdTec Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 28.06.2017
Vom 28. bis zum 30. Juni nahm Dr. Milos Kravcik an der PLATO International Summer Conference an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz teil. Die Abkürzung PLATO steht für “Positive Learning in the Age of Information” und ist Thema eines neuen Exzellenzcluster-Antrags, der derzeit vorbereitet wird. Das EdTec Lab des DFKI ist einer der wisse
Weitere Informationen

Invited Keynotes von Dr. Ullrich bei iLRN und ISCSET

EdTec Lab
Beitrag erstellt am 28.06.2017
Im Juni und Juli hielt Dr. Ullrich zwei Keynotes zu innovativen Anwendungen für das arbeitsplatzoriente Lernen. Im Vortrag am 28. Juni in der 3rd Annual International Conference of the Immersive Learning Research Network in Coimbra, Portugal, mit dem Titel “Workplace-based Learning in the Industrie 4.0: Multi-perspective approaches and solution
Weitere Informationen