Berlin and Göttingen to become the first smart sport pilot cities

Project SMART SPORT
Article posted on 29.07.2016

SMART SPORT is a project by the German Olympic Sports Association (DOSB) and DOSB’s German Sport Youth, focusing on developing and using smart assistance and knowledge services for teenagers and young adults who want to exercise in urban or rural areas – informally and organised by themselves, in addition to existing club and sport offerings from commercial providers.

Funding to implement this idea was provided by the Cola Foundation in Atlanta (USA), which supported the project and enabled a multi-year rollout in Germany as part of its global CSR activities. The first pilot cities have now been found in Göttingen and Berlin, where smart services for smartphones and tablets using methods such as augmented reality technologies and AI will be tested over the coming months.

It is also very encouraging that the Humboldt-Universität in Berlin and its professorship of sport didactics and teaching research has gained an exceptional researcher in the shape of Prof. Katja Schmitt, who will be aiding SMART SPORT with didactical implementation and in particular didactical visualisation. The HU Berlin is thus planning for a joint work unit and also two SMART SPORT curriculum courses in the 2016/17 winter semester. The test phase will run until March 2017, and other cities will be added over the coming months. The official national launch of SMART SPORT will be at the German Gymnastics Festival in Berlin.

Berlin und Göttingen wollen die ersten Smart Sport Pilotstädte sein

Projekt SMART SPORT
Beitrag erstellt am 29.07.2016

SMART SPORT ist ein Projekt des Deutschen Olympischen Sportbundes (DOSB) und der Deutschen Sportjugend im DOSB, in dessen Fokus die Entwicklung und der Einsatz smarter Assistenz- und Wissensdienste für Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene steht, die sich in urbanen oder ländlichen Räumen bewegen wollen – informell, selbstorganisiert, ergänzend zu bestehenden Vereins- und Sportangeboten kommerzieller Anbieter.

Für die Umsetzung dieser Idee konnte die Coca-Cola Foundation aus Atlanta (USA) gewonnen werden. Sie unterstützt das Vorhaben und ermöglicht im Rahmen ihrer weltweiten CSR-Aktivitäten eine mehrjährige Realisierung in Deutschland. Mit Göttingen und Berlin konnten nun die ersten Pilotstädte gewonnen werden, die in den nächsten Monaten die smarten Dienste für Smartphone und Tablet, u. a. unter Nutzung von Augmented-Reality-Technologien und KI-Methoden, testen werden.

Sehr erfreulich auch, dass mit der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der dort ansässigen Professur für Unterrichtsforschung und Didaktik des Sports von Prof. Dr. Katja Schmitt eine hervorragende Wissenschaftlerin gewonnen werden konnte, die SMART SPORT hinsichtlich der Didaktisierung, insbesondere der didaktischen Visualisierung unterstützen wird. So entsteht an der HU Berlin eine gemeinsame Arbeitseinheit wie auch im Wintersemester 2016/17 zwei Lehrveranstaltungen zu SMART SPORT curricular vorgesehen sind. Bis März 2017 läuft die Testphase, weitere Städte werden in den nächsten Monaten hinzukommen. Offizieller bundesweiter Start von SMART SPORT wird das Deutsche Turnfest 2017 in Berlin sein.