APPsist conference on Intelligent Knowledge Services in Smart Production

Project APPsist
Article posted on 14.07.2016

On 14 July 2016, more than 60 participants from science, industry, business, chambers and associations from across Germany were invited to Saarland’s permanent base in Berlin to attend the APPsist trade conference on ‘Intelligent Knowledge Services in Smart Production’. The event was organised by the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Festo AG and Ruhr-Universität Bochum. The impetus and background came from the ongoing pilot project by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) looking at intelligent and adaptive assistance and knowledge services on the shop floor in German mechanical and plant engineering.

In addition to a general progress report on the APPsist project and lots of practical examples from companies including Festo AG, MBB Fertigungstechnik GmbH and Brabant & Lehnert Werkzeug- und Maschinenbau GmbH, the focus was on transferring the technologies and solutions developed during the project into other fields of mechanical and plant engineering, as well as other sectors. The transfer issue was intensely discussed by participants, including in-depth questions and forward-looking concerns relating to expanding the service architecture developed within the project using real-time machinery data for qualification purposes, aspects of artificial intelligence in assistance and knowledge services, and the transferability of existing solutions to other fields of application and activity in production.

The summary and review provided by the three organisers together with Andreas Tettenborn from the German Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) on the conference’s closing panel was overwhelmingly positive: ‘the APPsist project achieved a lot, and now we need to discuss how we will make further use of these findings’, according to the members of the pilot project’s steering group Prof. Dieter Kreimeier, Prof. Christoph Igel, Dr. Carsten Ullrich and Klaus Herrmann. The successful conference was a positive milestone within the project and illustrated the untapped potential still available to be explored.

APPsist-Konferenz Intelligente Wissensdienste in der Smart Production

Projekt APPsist
Beitrag erstellt am 14.07.2016

Über 60 Teilnehmer aus Wissenschaft, Industrie, Wirtschaft, Kammern und Verbänden aus allen Teilen Deutschlands folgten am 14. Juli 2016 der Einladung in die Ständige Vertretung des Saarlandes in Berlin zur APPsist Fachkonferenz „Intelligente Wissensdienste in der Smart Production“. Veranstalter waren das Deutsche Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), die Festo AG und die Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Motivation und Hintergrund ist das laufende Modellprojekt des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) zu intelligent-adaptiven Assistenz- und Wissensdiensten auf dem Shopfloor im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau in Deutschland.

Neben einem allgemeinen Sachstandsbericht zum APPsist-Projekt und vielen Praxisbeispielen, u.a. der Unternehmen Festo AG, MBB Fertigungstechnik GmbH sowie Brabant & Lehnert Werkzeug- und Maschinenbau GmbH, stand die Frage des Transfers der im Projektverlauf erarbeiteten Technologie und Lösungen in weitere Bereiche des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus, aber auch in andere Branchen. Die Transferfrage wurde von den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern intensiv diskutiert; vertiefende Fragen und zukunftsweisende Anliegen zeigten sich etwa zum Ausbau der im Projekt entwickelten Dienste-Architektur unter Nutzung von Echtzeitdaten der Maschinen für Qualifizierungszwecke, Aspekte künstlicher Intelligenz bei den Assistenz- und Wissensdiensten, aber auch die Übertragbarkeit bisheriger Lösungen auf weitere Anwendungs- und Tätigkeitsfelder in der Produktion.

Das Resümee und der Rückblick der drei Veranstalter gemeinsam mit Dr. Andreas Tettenborn vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) auf dem abschließenden Panel der Fachkonferenz war durchgängig positiv: „Im APPsist Projekt wurde viel erreicht, nun müssen wir darüber sprechen, wie wir mit diesen Ergebnissen weiterarbeiten werden“, so die Mitglieder des Lenkungskreises des Modellprojektes, Prof. Dr. Dieter Kreimeier, Prof. Dr. Christoph Igel, Dr. Carsten Ullrich und Klaus Herrmann. Die erfolgreiche Fachkonferenz sei ein weiterer positiver Meilenstein im Projektverlauf und zeige die noch unerschlossenen Potentiale auf, die weiter zu erforschen sind.